Illegal Post 5- Can I say that I love my Dad?

When I was a child, I was very unsure about the presence or existence of God, and I certainly didn’t acknowledge him as ‘Father’ in any way… you could say that i didn’t know him, and I didn’t know he loved me, and I certainly didn’t love him.

When I was a child, my father worked really hard and was often busy- when it wasn’t work it was the garden or something else… he was present, but not intimate… i knew him, but not that well. I’m not sure how well we expressed affection or communicated that we loved each other.

As a young teenager, I came to believe in the existence of God, and gradually came to understand that not only was he Creator, he was Father- that not only was I created, but I was a child of God. But I don’t know how well I communicated that i understood and received his love.

As a young teenager, I came to see that there were things in life that were more important to my father than work- we’d moved house because of work, but it meant he was home more, and out of difficulties in life and things he perceived in the world around him great things grew in him. But I don’t think I managed to understand much of this or communicate my appreciation to him.

As a young man I desired independence with support- which meant I would talk to God when i felt like it and ignore him when i didn’t. I would expect great teaching and a worship buzz, but wasn’t too keen on sticking around when things were more mundane. I’m pretty sure I never thanked God for not ditching me.

As a young man I desired independence with support. My parents helped me get to university, ferried my stuff across the country and back, helped pay my debts, supported me in my lack of direction and never, ever told me it was time to grow up, take life seriously or get a real job. I have probably never thanked them enough for what they gave me.

Today is Father’s Day. The day when over recent years more and more fuss has been made over male parents (I don’t think our family was unique in not celebrating it until the last decade). Today I want to thank my Father for all he is, for all he has done for me and for all he means to me. Thank you God, for being my father, I am proud to be your child, and I love you with all my heart. Today I want to thank my father for all he is, for all he has done for me, and for all he means to me. Thank you Dad, for being my father, I am proud to be your child, and I love you with all my heart.

I can barely call myself a young man anymore, but I’m not old enough to know better. I still make mistakes, I still forget things and people that are important, but occasionally I manage to do something right. If you love someone, find a way to tell them so.

Leave a Reply

