What does it prophet a man if he is held by fear?

No, not a typo- prophets and fear, not two ideas we often put together because we see the prophets in the Bible as the wild-eyed fearless types.  But what if they were afraid? Surely that never happened? Take a gander at the beginning of Jeremiah, before he gets going on the prophecies of disaster that will unfold (and btw he was right), and you’ll see, in chapter 1, that Jeremiah was full of fear. Until…

Well, that’s what I was speaking about this morning, at our all-ages service with 40 guests from a family new to the church, and so I couldn’t have a full script to talk from with the children right there… more of a vague map to give me a direction and a starting point.  Which is a slightly nervy place to be when you’ve a church-full… And not to mention that I’d had the daft idea of asking God to speak to us today- so not only was I going to be without a script, but I was also expecting God to show up and get me out of trouble.

Anyway, here’s the scribbled ‘map’:

This morning we’re thinking about what young people can do and how we can hear from God, and we’ve just heard a really famous example- Jeremiah, one of the prophets in the Bible, was a man who felt nervous and worried because he was so young. He thought people wouldn’t listen to him. God spoke to him and encouraged him- I knew you before you were even born, before you were even formed in your mummy’s tummy… I had a plan for you right back then… and that helped Jeremiah.  I guess that most of us have been encouraged or helped by someone- maybe our parents or friends, or a teacher- often we think it’ll be someone older who helps us, but sometimes it can be someone much younger than us…

When I became a Christian- sharing faith with my own parents… what really mattered was the change they saw in me (not that I was perfect, far from it)- If my mum’s reading this I’m sure she’ll put me straight on this and remind me that I became a truly awful child for the next two years.

When Rob and Kate first came to this church, it was Harry that brought them!

When my own first child was born, even before she could do anything, she showed me how powerful love is.

When I’ve listened to the prayers that children write, sometimes they make me smile (Dear God, can I have ice cream for tea and can Man U always win) but often I’m amazed, challenged and encouraged by the faith they show- the trust that God will hear and can respond.

God doesn’t seem to have the same understanding that we often do that with age comes greater understanding and improvement- the phrase ‘elders and betters’ isn’t in the Bible, though respecting parents is! Instead God takes those who are willing, whatever their age, and equips them for the work, for the things that he calls them to. Jeremiah was to be a prophet before his whole people, speaking God’s words at a really difficult time.

Children ministering/praying for their parents is something I’ve seen a few times… it’s a real privilege to be prayed for by someone who trusts God like a child… who better than an actual child?

When I’ve finished I’d love to hear from anyone, particularly the children- tell me something that you found interesting or surprising in what I’ve been saying, so listen really hard for anything that stands out to you- grown ups might want to write something down on your notice sheet…

And the coolest thing was, that although I had to leave pretty much straight after the service, one of the kids came up to me before I left with a prayer that she’d written for peace in Afghanistan- we’d not mentioned it at all during the rest of the service… thank you God.

Leave a Reply

